Darts News and Events

Van Gerwen Takes Unicorn Youth Tour Victory

2011 Unicorn-youth-tour-Van Gerwen

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his first PDC Unicorn Youth Tour victory, defeating Ash Khayat 4-0 in the final at Wigan’s Robin Park Tennis Centre.

Dutch ace Van Gerwen, who turned 22 last Monday, claimed the £600 first prize in his best showing yet in the sixth Youth Tour events this year, claiming some fine wins along the way.

Having drawn Youth Tour Order of Merit leader Shaun Griffiths in round one, van Gerwen overcame the Manchester-based teenager 3-1 before then seeing off David Everley and Matt Gallett.

He then whitewashed both David Pallett and Josh Jones to reach the semi-finals, where he won an all-Dutch affair with Co Stompe Jnr, before sweeping past Khayat in the final.

Van Gerwen hit a nerve-settling 180 in the opening leg of the final, which he won on double 16 before breaking Khayat’s throw for a 2-0 cushion in 14 darts.

He landed another 180 in a 14-dart finish to lead 3-0, and sealed the win on double eight in the fourth leg.

“It’s a big boost for my confidence to win this,” said van Gerwen. “I’ve wanted to win every tournament but people should know that these tournaments are very tough to win.

“It’s not easy and I’ve found that the players seem to try a little bit extra against me, but I played my own game today and I’m very happy.

“It’s only a short format so if a player has a good game and you miss a couple of doubles then you will get beaten.

“I want to win some more of these events but I want to play like this on the PDC ProTour too. I want to qualify for the World Matchplay and World Grand Prix this year so I need to have some good runs.

“I know I can do it and my game is getting better, and this result is important for me.”

Wolverhampton’s Khayat won through to his first final with a narrow 4-3 defeat of Chris Aubrey in the semi-finals, as the Swindon youngster missed a dart for victory in the deciding leg.

Khayat also overcame Darren Whittingham, Jonathan Mulley, Liam Cooper, Sam Hill and Marc Evans on his way to the final, where he picked up £400 as runner-up.

Stompe, who is aiming to follow in his father’s footsteps and make an impact as a professional, edged past another talented Dutch youngster, Jimmy Hendriks, to reach the semis.

Paul Barham, who won the fourth PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event a month ago, was defeated by Aubrey in the last eight, but three previous champions – Adam Hunt, Ryan Harrington and Ricky Evans, were all defeated in the last 64.

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event Six
First Round
Jamie Lewis 3-1 Jack Tweddell
Joe Davis 3-1 Ryan Hitchens
Dean Reynolds 3-2 Dan Elcock
Adam Hunt 3-1 Jake Pennington
Co Stompe Jnr 3-1 Paul Cooper
Ross Robson 3-0 Kev Kershaw
Lewis Venes 3-0 Dan Read
Ryan Maher 3-0 Sam Hamilton
Ryan Herrington 3-0 Charlie Jackson
Ryan Iceton 3-2 Scott Pearson
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Shaun Griffiths
David Everley 3-2 Sam Davidson
Andrew Poynter 3-0 Chris Pimblett
Jake Jones 3-0 Scott Johnson
Ryan Harrington 3-1 Damian Smith
Spencer Murphy 3-1 Paul Mitchell
Ash Khayat 3-0 Marc Evans
Sam Hill 3-0 Adam Griffiths
Jonathan Mulley 3-0 Anthony West
Reece Robinson 3-0 Ryan Hoggarth
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Robert Higginson
Chris Aubrey 3-1 Pascal van Mourik
Paul Barham 3-0 Luke Humphries
John Bryan 3-0 Joshua Priestley
Michael Smith 3-1 George Killington

Second Round
Christopher Lawrence 3-2 Richard North
Jamie Lewis 3-0 Joe Davis
Jimmy Hendriks 3-1 Jamie Green
Dean Reynolds 3-2 Adam Hunt
Brandonn Monk 3-1 Aden Kirk
Co Stompe Jnr 3-1 Ross Robson
Kirsty Haw 3-2 Curtis Jones
Lewis Venes 3-1 Carl Draper
Jamie Grinhaff 3-0 Kacey Jones
Ryan Maher 3-1 Ryan Herrington
Josh Jones 3-2 Connor Durham
Scott Taylor 3-2 Ryan Iceton
Matt Gallett 3-0 Adam Hart
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 David Everley
David Pallett 3-0 James Hadjar
Andrew Poynter 3-1 Jamie Landon
Darren Whittingham 3-1 Arron Monk
Jake Jones 3-0 Ryan Harrington
Matthew Dicken 3-0 David Coyne
Spencer Murphy 3-1 James Young
Liam Cooper 3-0 Conor Bickerton
Ash Khayat 3-1 Sam Hill
Curtis Hammond 3-0 David Galaska
Jonathan Mulley 3-1 Ricky Evans
Lee Whitworth 3-2 Steven Kirkby
Adam Smith-Neale 3-0 Reece Robinson
Jack Hill 3-0 Graham Hoggarth
Chris Aubrey 3-1 Joe Cullen
Brandon Walsh 3-2 Steve Haggerty
Paul Barham 3-0 John Bryan
Nick Kenny 3-1 Josh McCarthy
Michael Smith 3-1 Dan Dean

Third Round
Jamie Lewis 3-0 Christoper Lawrence
Jimmy Hendriks 3-1 Dean Reynolds
Co Stompe Jnr 3-0 Brandonn Monk
Lewis Venes 3-0 Kirsty Haw
Jamie Grinhaff 3-0 Ryan Maher
Josh Jones 3-0 Scott Taylor
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 Matt Gallett
David Pallett 3-0 Andrew Poynter
Darren Whittingham 3-1 Jake Jones
Spencer Murphy 3-2 Matthew Dicken
Ash Khayat 3-0 Liam Cooper
Jonathan Mulley 3-1 Curtis Hammond
Lee Whitworth 3-1 Adam Smith-Neale
Chris Aubrey 3-0 Jack Hill
Paul Barham 3-1 Brandon Walsh
Michael Smith 3-0 Nick Kenny

Fourth Round
Jimmy Hendriks 3-2 Jamie Lewis
Co Stompe Jnr 3-1 Lewis Venes
Josh Jones 3-2 Jamie Grinhaff
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 David Pallett
Darren Whittingham 3-0 Spencer Murphy
Ash Khayat 3-2 Jonathan Mulley
Chris Aubrey 3-0 Lee Whitworth
Paul Barham 3-1 Michael Smith
Losers £25

Co Stompe Jnr 3-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Josh Jones
Ash Khayat 3-2 Darren Whittingham
Chris Aubrey 3-0 Paul Barham
Losers £100

Michael van Gerwen 4-2 Co Stompe Jnr
Ash Khayat 4-3 Chris Aubrey
Losers £200

Michael van Gerwen 4-0 Ash Khayat
Winner £600
Runner-Up £400

Comments are off for this post  

Comments are closed.