Darts News and Events

Taylor Powers over the Andy Smith to take Antwerp Darts Trophy

Saturday’s Antwerp Darts Trophy victory marks Phil Taylor’s sixth successive PDC Pro Tour win. Andy Smith suffered a 3-0 loss to Taylor in Saturday’s final match.

Phil Taylor won his sixth successive PDC Pro Tour event with a 3-0 defeat of Andy Smith in the final of Saturday’s Antwerp Darts Trophy.

Taylor is now unbeaten away from the television cameras for a month after continuing his brilliant run of form in Belgium.

He was a straight sets winner over Smith in the final, winning the first set 2-0 to take command before edging the next two 2-1 to claim the £5,000 title.

Taylor dropped just one leg in his semi-final win over Ronnie Baxter, and produced an 11-darter in the deciding leg of his closest game of the day, a five-set thriller against Stoke rival Andy Hamilton in the quarters.

He also defeated Yves Cottenge, Mick Savvery, Lionel Sams and Denis Ovens in the earlier rounds, dropping just once set in the process.

Smith came from two sets down in the semis to overcome Colin Lloyd – who had not dropped a set on his run to the last four but allowed a 2-0 lead to slip and missed 13 darts to win a place in the final.

Austria’s Mensur Suljovic included Mark Walsh, Roland Scholten and Peter Manley among his victims in reaching the quarter-finals, before going down 3-0 to Baxter.

Dave Askew and Mark Dudbridge also made the last eight, losing to Smith and Lloyd respectively, while Hamilton missed double 12 for a nine-dart leg in his last 16 win over Jasper Smidt.

Kim Huybrechts defeated world number one Raymond van Barneveld in a deciding leg on his way to the last 16, where he was defeated by Baxter.

Terry Jenkins, the defending Antwerp Darts Trophy champion, was knocked out by Dudbridge in the fourth round.

Antwerp Darts Trophy Results
First Round
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Michael van Roon
Colin Monk 3-1 Stephan de Wit
Tony Eccles 3-0 Chris Sargeant
Colin Osborne 3-1 Jozef Wolters
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Bryan de Hoog
Tom Nagels 3-0 Bjorn Wasten
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Christoff van der Wal
Leroy Kwadijk 3-0 Andreas Muller
Steve Beaton 3-0 Joschua Linders
Anoop Ramdajal Bye (Wayne Mardle)
Kieran Leal 3-2 Erwin Extercatte
Wayne Jones 3-0 Rene Kuiken
Dave Honey Bye (Adrian Lewis)
Jelle Klaasen 3-0 Domien Raes
Dave Askew 3-0 Sean Palfrey
Alan Tabern 3-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Gary Barnett 3-1 John Lokken
Vincent van der Voort 3-0 Steve Cusick
John Part 3-1 Andy Relf
Paul Dillon 3-2 Mart Boelaars
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 Dave Ladley
Kevin Painter 3-1 Tony Randell
Kevin McDine Bye (Michael Rosenauer Timed Out)
Andy Smith 3-0 Jon Archer
Raymond van Barneveld 3-0 Jan van der Rassel
Peter Wright 3-0 Jan Blom
Kim Huybrechts 3-1 Steve Maish
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Marcel Plaewe
Owen Caffrey 3-2 Dirk Hespeels
Kirk Shepherd 3-0 Jamie Caven
Roland Scholten 3-2 Jason Barry
Mensur Suljovic 3-0 Darren Sutton
Mark Walsh 3-0 Dennis Smith
Peter Manley 3-0 Raoul Struyf
Kees Slokkers 3-1 Stefan Mindum
Robert Watson-Lang 3-2 Mick McGowan
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Mike Herold
Joeri Raets 3-2 Nigel Peden
Adrian Gray 3-0 Miloslav Navratil
Jasper Smidt 3-2 Barrie Bates
Freddie de Geus 3-2 Ben Burton
Alex Roy 3-0 Rocco Maes
Phil Taylor 3-0 Yves Cottenge
Lionel Sams 3-1 Bob Avenell
Rico Vonck 3-0 Alan Warriner-Little
Denis Ovens 3-0 Thomas Neilsen
Carlos Rodriguez 3-0 Lee White
Mervyn King 3-0 Ronny Huybrechts

Second Round
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Manfred Hausler
Colin Monk 3-0 Tony Eccles
Colin Osborne 3-0 Chris Daglish
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Tom Nagels
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Antoine van den Hurk
Steve Beaton 3-0 Leroy Kwadijk
Shayne Burgess 3-2 Anoop Ramdajal
Wayne Jones 3-0 Kieran Leal
Dave Honey 3-2 Steve Smith
Dave Askew 3-0 Jelle Klaasen
Alan Tabern 3-0 Stijn Boffel
Vincent van der Voort 3-1 Gary Barnett
Maarten Pape 3-2 John Part
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Paul Dillon
Kevin Painter Bye (Alan Caves)
Andy Smith 3-0 Kevin McDine
Raymond van Barneveld 3-0 Pim van Veenendaal
Kim Huybrechts 3-0 Peter Wright
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Ian Jopling
Kirk Shepherd 3-2 Owen Caffrey
Roland Scholten 3-1 John Ferrell
Mensur Suljovic 3-0 Mark Walsh
Peter Manley 3-1 Jason Clark
Robert Watson-Lang 3-0 Kees Slokkers
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Matt Clark
Joeri Raets 3-2 Adrian Gray
Jasper Smidt 3-0 Didier de Vuyst
Alex Roy 3-0 Freddie de Geus
Phil Taylor 3-1 Mick Savvery
Lionel Sams 3-0 Rico Vonck
Denis Ovens 3-0 Joeri Arnouts
Mervyn King 3-2 Carlos Rodriguez
Losers £75

Third Round
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Colin Monk
Mark Dudbridge 3-1 Colin Osborne
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Steve Beaton
Wayne Jones 3-2 Shayne Burgess
Dave Askew 3-1 Dave Honey
Alan Tabern 3-1 Vincent van der Voort
Maarten Pape 3-0 Michael van Gerwen
Andy Smith 3-0 Kevin Painter
Kim Huybrechts 3-2 Raymond van Barneveld
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Kirk Shepherd
Mensur Suljovic 3-1 Roland Scholten
Peter Manley 3-0 Robert Watson-Lang
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Joeri Raets
Jasper Smidt 3-2 Alex Roy
Phil Taylor 3-0 Lionel Sams
Denis Ovens 3-0 Mervyn King
Losers £150

Fourth Round
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Terry Jenkins
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Wayne Jones
Dave Askew 3-1 Alan Tabern
Andy Smith 3-2 Maarten Pape
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Kim Huybrechts
Mensur Suljovic 3-2 Peter Manley
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Jasper Smidt
Phil Taylor 3-0 Denis Ovens
Losers £300

Colin Lloyd 3-0 Mark Dudbridge
Andy Smith 3-0 Dave Askew
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Mensur Suljovic
Phil Taylor 3-2 Andy Hamilton
Losers £600

Andy Smith 3-2 Colin Lloyd (1-2, 0-2, 2-1, 2-0, 2-1)
Phil Taylor 3-0 Ronnie Baxter (2-0, 2-1, 2-0)
Losers £1,250

Phil Taylor 3-0 Andy Smith (2-0, 2-1, 2-1)
Winner £5,000
Runner-Up £2,500

Comments are off for this post  

Comments are closed.