Darts News and Events

BDO Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships Celebrates 25 Years at Lakeside Country Club


The World Professional Darts Championships will celebrate their 25th Anniversary Year at Lakeside Country Club in 2010 – proudly continuing their tradition for maintaining the history of World Darts at the highest participation levels.

In addition to players from the home countries, thousands of players representing over sixty member countries within the World Darts Federation will have the opportunity to compete to reach the BBC televised stages of the 2010 Championships.

These will be played for nine consecutive days from Saturday, January 2nd to Sunday, January 10th, 2010.

The Men’s World Professional Darts Championship will celebrate thirty-three years of continuous coverage on BBC TV (1978 to 2010 inclusive) while the Women’s World Professional Darts Championship will be staged for the tenth consecutive year (2001 to 2010 inclusive).

“I am delighted that Lakeside will be celebrating its 25th Anniversary as host of these great Championships, as well as our seventh consecutive year as main title sponsor,” says Bob Potter, OBE, proprietor of the Lakeside Complex.

“These Championships are truly unique, as is the atmosphere they create, and Lakeside is privileged to welcome not only the BDO and BBC, but also the world’s top darts players – men and women – who never fail to produce the very best standards of darts excellence and entertainment year after year.”

Closing date for submitting details of entries:
July 31ST, 2009.
Lakeside World Professional International Play-offs:
September, 3RD, 2009.

The BDO Board of Directors have agreed that:

a) ‘4’ Men and ‘2’ Women qualifiers plus standby players to be determined in the International Play-Offs.

b) ‘12’ Men players – the last four from the 2009 Championship, plus eight ‘others’ and ‘4’ Women players – the last two from the 2009 Championship, plus two ‘others’.

The ‘other’ players to be determined from the BDO Invitation Tables as at
July 31st, 2009 will be named as direct invites into the First Round proper

As in previous years the Championships will be contested by 32 men and 8 women players, and the cut-off date for seeding and the declaration of the ‘remaining’ players participating in the First Round proper will be Monday 12th October 2009.

“The BDO’s two BBC televised darts majors – the World Masters and World Pro – complement each other through our eligibility rules and enjoy all the history and kudos of true World Championships”, says Olly Croft, Managing Director of BDO Enterprises Ltd.

“Needless to say, we are delighted to be celebrating the 25th anniversary of the World Professional at Lakeside (1986-2010 inclusive) and our 33rd year as the first major sporting event of the year on BBC television.”

Staged and promoted by the British Darts Organisation and sponsored by Lakeside Country Club – the undisputed Home of World Darts – the 2010 BDO Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships will be played from Saturday, January 2nd to Sunday, January 10th, 2010 and televised over those nine consecutive days by BBC TV Sport.



  • BBC-1 and BBC-2 – Live and recorded transmissions daily for nine consecutive days – afternoon/evening and late evening/early morning
  • BBCi Live transmissions daily of every dart thrown for digital viewers by pressing red-button on remote-control.
  • BBC WORLDWIDE – World Pro sold around the globe to over 70 countries.
  • SBS-6 (Netherlands): Present at Lakeside since 1998.
  • EUROSPORT has signed a new deal with BBC Worldwide to show the Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships not only across Europe, but also Asia until 2011.
Comments are off for this post  

Comments are closed.